Summer Exhibition 2017

Teignmouth Art Society

The Teignmouth Art Society Summer Exhibition is well under way, with a huge array of pictures, ceramics and cards.
The Society held a preview and presentation evening for members and guests. The judge was well known local artist Laura Wall, she gave a brief history of her artistic career beginning with winning a scholarship to Aberystwyth University in Fine Art, followed by her success with the series “Love at the Seaside” and “Goose” children books. Laura assured the artists she had worked through many of the different disciplines required to produce the types of work the members were showing. During the presentation Laura told each Artist what had appealed to her in the pictures she chose.
Martin Dutton the Society President, South West Academician chose his favourite picture and gave critique and encouragement to many of the Artists.
Paul Burgess, Mayor of Teignmouth accompanied by his wife Nicky had great difficulty choosing their favourite picture, but made a great choice in the end.
These are the winning Artists and categories.
Lewis Cook Award – Best Overall Entry Elaine Best, Commended, Richard Juniper
Margaret Howell Award – Flowers Sue Evans, Commended, Felicity Hughes
Margaret Webb Award – Most Innovative Jirka Ptacek Commended, Kerry Broomhead- Brown
Marjorie Mathews Award – Portrait or Figure Angie Joy Jenner, Commended: Keith Bowcock
Dawn &John Fricker Award – Landscape Paul Jeffries, Commended, Jeanne Girling
Albert Smith Award – Marine Painting Andy Tapper, Commended, Jan white
Jennifer Jenkins Award – 3d Sculpture Carol Courtier, Commended, Jon Watson
David and Jill Harrison Award for Abstract Work Elaine Best, Commended, Shan Roberts
Alan Cotton Award – President’s Choice Paul Jeffries
Jean Beatty Award Guest of Honour’s Choice Kerry Broomhead-Brown
The winning artwork is all labelled, come and see if you agree with the Judges and cast your vote for the best in show award.
The Exhibition at the Victoria Hall in Shaldon is free to enter and open every day 10am until 5pm on 22nd August.